World Marathon Majors

The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AWMM) is a championship-style competition for marathon runners that started in 2006. It comprises six annual races for the cities of Tokyo (starting in 2013), Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago and New York City (except 2012), a biennial race, the IAAF World Championships Marathon, and a quadrennial race, the Olympic Games Marathon.
Each World Marathon Majors series originally spanned two full calendar years; the second year of a series overlapped with the first year of the next. Starting in 2015, each series began with a defined city race and ended with the following race in the same city. So, series IX started in February 2015 at the 2015 Tokyo Marathon and ended there in February 2016 at the 2016 Tokyo Marathon. Series X started at the 2016 Boston Marathon and finished at the 2017 Boston Marathon. Series XI started at the 2017 London Marathon and finished at the 2018 London Marathon.
It began being sponsored by Abbott in 2015. On April 26, 2017 Dalian Wanda Group Co., Ltd., one of the leading Chinese private conglomerates, announced a ten-year strategic partnership aimed at the continued growth and development of marathon events worldwide.
For the first three series if there were equal top scores at the end of the competition the tiebreakers were head-to-head competition and, if necessary, a majority vote of the five WMM race directors. This happened in the 200708 women's competition.
Beginning in 200910 season, following best head-to-head record, the following tie-breakers were implemented, in descending order: the person who achieved his or her points in the fewest races, the person who won the most qualifying races during the period, the person with the fastest average time in their scoring races, and a majority vote of the six race directors. If the final circumstance is necessary, the race directors could award the title jointly.